top of page
blog.png

Leoric - Diablo/Heroes of the Storm Build Process

Updated: Jan 9, 2019

This was a build that I've wanted to do since I saw the trailer for him on Heroes of the Storm. I will not sit here and say I am a Diablo fan, as I have never played a single game, but I have played a bit of HotS. So lets start.




References:

My main reference was a series of pieces made by Ilya Bond (https://twitter.com/IlyaBondArt). These pieces provided me with some of the best shots of the shoulders. Go check him out, his art is amazing.




Build: Boots

he base for he boots are a pair of peasant boots from Dark Knight Armory (https://www.darkknightarmoury.com/p-7348-villager-boots.aspx). Originally, these were meant for my Conor MacLeod cosplay at A-Kon 29, but they were late coming in, but I figured I can use them for something else.

In order to get the point, I took a piece of 6mm foam and taped it to the tip of the boot, and then wrapped shrink wrap, and duct tape around it to make a pattern. The front was done separately, and made from 5mm EVA foam and the back was wrapped around the back and joined with a 2" elastic strap. When the piece was fully combined, I have two pieces of elastic to keep it bound to from slipping out of the boot during wear. Across the top of the foot, there is a band, that was also made from 5mm foam.


Shin


For the shin portions, I made one shape, and did that three time stacked on top of each other. Each was made out of 5mm foam.








Before I connected them to each other, I put a foam band on the back to wrap around them and only attached the pieces in front to each individual plate to allow the back to unattached - mostly because I am lazy and didn't feel like a full attachment is needed for these. As

you can see from the image on the left, there is a large open area there. In the design, there are these wing armor pieces. I just made those from 5mm with a 4mm trim. Generally, when it comes to accents like that I go one size thinner to add some depth to the piece.



As far as the knees go, the are also attached to the shin as they are too massive to be attached with a strap or Velcro to the knees of the pants. So I made the base from 5, the trim on the outside 4 the top inner design is 3 mm and the black prongs are 2 mm. You can also see the wing thing on the bottom as well.







Belt


The belt is just a brown faux leather strap wrapped around a 2" strap. The belt buckle was a piece of 5mm with a 4mm trim and 4mm outer points. The blue gem is an acrylic sphere painted on the inside with a Gundam Pen. After it was attached, there are four more points on the gem itself, and those were 2mm. I'll go into detail on how it was attached later in the post, to show how the majority of this build was brought together. As far as the thigh guards go, they attach to the belt. 5mm base, 4mm trim, 3mm decoration. I didn't get a picture of them during the build as an individual piece.



Breast Plate

The Breast plate is quite possibly the easiest and complex one I've worked on its 5 pieces that are joined at the back and strapped with that center piece. Same deal, 5mm and 4mm trim. As far as the connection goes, its using D-rings and velcro nylon webbing. This is how the belt was attached as well.







For the record, I didn't sand the trim to a bevel due to the depth may potentially damaging the base armor.











Shoulder Guards

The shoulders base were the same shape that were connected and rounded out. The left shoulder has this weird shield thing so I made that out of same stuff as above, but the difference is this sun design on it. I sculpted that out of C-4 foam clay from TNT Cosplay Supply (https://tntcosplaysupply.com/product/cosclay/) you can see it in the bottom of the picture. After which I glued it onto the shield. I do not recommend this, instead, use it directly on the foam for better adhesion. As far as getting the shoulder on, there is a piece of floor mat on the bottom of the shoulder and on the breastplate where the shoulder is. That has a parachute buckle that clips into it, and then sits on the velcro due to Blizzard wanting to have massive shoulders.


Have a Rainmaker pose with the armor on.

RAINMAKER!!!!!

Here is all the armor complete on my bench before prime and paint.

The emoji was a chia pet i got in a white elephant game for Christmas in 2017

Nevermind the crown, I ended up deciding to remake it.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Customer Spotlight

This is not a build blog, but a way to show off the customers and what props they had ordered and the such. If you wish to be featured, let me know and I will add your prop and photo here. Emerald Gr

bottom of page